Marathon Training: Competition

After a rotten week of not training and being completely ill, I arrived at last Saturday’s Parkrun in pretty poor form. Because the legs had gotten some rest, the time for that 5km was ok but by the end I was wheezing like Albert Steptoe.

This run was a test to see if I should even bother doing the Silverstone Half Marathon which I had signed up to do the following day with the White Lodge Centre team. I decided I should give it a go.

It was great to do a competitive run as it gave me the opportunity to realise that my understanding of race tactics was poor! I started way too quickly, taken up with the flow of fast runners. My sub 5 minute splits had degraded to 5:30 by the end and the last km was atrocious!

Still managed a half marathon pb.

With 6690 runners finishing, I was placed in the top 25%. Briefly encountered one White Lodge runner as I was pipped by Craig Waddle on the finishing line.

With my dodgy race tactics, I felt pretty burnt out at the end. I’ll be aiming for a more manageable pace in the big race. It’s so easy to go too fast and end up fighting and hurting to keep pace!

SPONSOR ME!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

