Fading

One big tendency I have towards the end of a competitive run is to fade towards the end. Whilst heading to smash my half marathon personal best at the Great North Run 2013, I dropped off in the last 2km, and barely managed to squeeze in at 1:57:02. I did the same thing when I ran the Brathay marathon in 2010. Reaching the last two miles, all my momentum dropped off, and I was horrified to find that I was being overtaken by Scooby Doo. Well, after last night’s run at SRC Clapham, I’m clearly up to my old tricks again! Don’t know why, but I just can’t seem to bring it home.

Here is the route we did:
SRC 10-09-2014_1

A really decent route, starting in Clapham, over Vauxhall Bridge. Along Chelsea Embankment, running back over Chelsea Bridge. Passing Battersea Park on the way back to Clapham. The result wasn’t too bad, with me managing to nail a 4:55 split:

SRC 10-09-2014_2

Even though that’s really not a bad time for me, the reality is that the last 1km was a complete mess…

SRC 10-09-2014_3

No idea why I seem to drop off! 8km is not even a particularly tough distance, but it must be my limit at these kind of paces.

Oh, and here’s one more pic of SRC runners about to pig out at the Chicago Rib Shack in Clapham, after a similarly gruelling run. Great night, Sweatshop Derek!

Chicago Rib Shack

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

